A few weeks ago I had an update on how my job search as a game of Risk was going. The updated map looked pretty much like Week 3, give or take one territory battled and two territories won. I had a plan for both the elusive Greenland and tempting Australia, plans that would keep me from finishing the board with no jobs and much misery.

Week 3. Four territories are at my mercy.

Week 3.
Four territories are at my mercy.

Instead, I write this post as the Napoleon, the Genghis Kahn, the Alexander of all job hunting; I won the world!

Here is the final map:

Week 4-5 The turquoise territories are completely at my mercy.

Week 4-5
The turquoise territories are completely at my mercy.

Okay, technically, I won three continents: South America, Africa, and Europe. My game goal was to earn one territory/job to win the whole board, and with these three I feel as though I’ve won the actual world.

A little disclaimer: While job hunting and getting and having is serious business, it’s absolutely terrible work. You can’t deny that. My point here is MY SYSTEM WORKED. You CAN make anything into absolute silliness.

And you know what? I accepted two of the offers. TWO, MOTHER-TRUCKERS! Australia, go crawl into a hole!

If you know anyone who has made a game of their job search, tell me about it!

