I didn’t read as much this summer because I didn’t take into consideration the time I’d have to spend at my part-time jobs (you know, the ones that actually pay). As planned, however, I experienced tales I had never read and revisited some classics.

It started with the Alanna series, which turned into a two-month headache. After my excitement for the series deflated, I decided to do a comparison with Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley. Book 3 of Alanna reminded me of The Blue Sword, which I read last year and had decided to take a rain check on posting after I’d read its prequel, The Hero and the Crown. All of these will be on this journal by the next challenge.

I was so pleased to be reading three American Girls series that I decided to explore Marie-Claire. Or is it Grace? No, wait, it’s Cecile. I don’t even know what that series is about, so I must read it!

read-all-the-things

Goosebumps #1 was a boring adventure, but now I want to read my favourites.

read-all-the-things

I did read one series and decided wasn’t worth writing about, and that series was Geronimo Stilton. I tried to read one, listen to one, and managed to read all of a Thea Stilton book only because it was about ballet and I wanted to judge the technique of the cartoon mice. The rant just wasn’t worth the post.

Okay, okay. If you really must know, here’s everything in a nutshell: each and every character is equally as endearing as they are annoying. I see these Geronimo books at my library, and on each cover something awesome is happening to Geronimo while he makes an awkward face about it. I simply cannot stand him. He’s constantly whining about everything. Thea Stilton, to say the least, made no sense to me. I’m supposed to believe that all of Thea’s friends are talented enough to be professionals at every single subject the author wanted to write about. While their technique was fantastic, yes, and while I learned a few ballet words I had forgotten, a lot of little things irked me about the presentation. Not everything was correct, and that grated on me.

This year’s summer reading challenge was, to say the least, an almost complete bust, but I’m happy to have done it. In fact, I want to keep on reading a few treasures (and duds) I found while “shopping” at the library. I won’t post about them here (except for McKinley/Pierce).

Next year’s challenge will be Childrens’ Classics because there just aren’t enough sub-genres I’ve made up already. There aren’t enough challenges, either, for me to get to other age groups throughout the year!

read-all-the-things

Well, here are the posts from this challenge:


American Girl, Tea Time, and History
American Girl, Art, and Sympathy
American Girl, Spiritual Nationalism, and Characterisation
Goosebumps

