Foreign films are your friends. No, really! There seem to be negative thoughts on foreign films in general, or any movie that involves subtitles for its entire duration. In my short life, this is what I’ve gathered. Why is this so? It could be the actual act of reading subtitles. It could be the separation of text/speech and action. It could also be a false idea that foreign films are uber (über?) serious or abstract.

After watching Amador, I begin to wonder if all movies from other countries had depressing people and plots. Where are the storylines that make you feel good? Is Hollywood so different from everyone else? No. There are plenty of intense films everywhere.

If we’re intelligent enough to read this post, we can surely read a few subtitles. If subtitles become tedious, watch the acting and the body language. If everything looks too serious, remember that sometimes sarcasm is lost in translation.

Alias Betty was pretty darn good. As it was somewhat of a thriller, of course it was a little serious, but one needn’t read too many subtitles to understand both the basic and complex human instincts. The night after seeing it, I had a dream about finding a place to live with little José, except, instead of Betty, I was Ledger’s Joker sans make-up and we had to hide in Gotham. (Your author need not go at length to explain how she needs to lay off the Batman. It’s becoming evident that a whole month of other media will not help her brain be cleansed.)

bannerbaseJust like last week, this one has passed too quickly. The difference, however, is my experience with language altogether. While working on my novel, I’m able to concentrate better. It’s as if shoving English materials into my closet (quite literally) for the time being has given my thoughts a reboot. That’s not to say there aren’t still temptations.

I have weaned myself off of Starcraft for the twentieth time this year. There are some nights when my brother finds no end to funny images to show me via Imgur. I’ll have to make him postpone these showings for a few weeks.

Language is everywhere, and it’s not always a good thing. Advertisements will always be annoying and, for some reason, we believe it makes them inescapable. Not so! I’ll listen to them in Spanish instead, suckers! Wait, but… but then… damn, they still got me.

I’ve already become bored with my library’s selection of “foreign” music. Most of it consists of compilation CDs that are supposed to represent an entire country. Many of these songs are in English. I’ll have to now rely on Classical or Spanish radio in the car and unofficial Youtube videos at home.

Speaking of videos, let me show you one more. This is an instrumental piece from Gangs of New York. I first saw this movie in high school, after I’d been a fan of Irish music for several years. Buying the sound track and listening obsessively introduced me to fusion-like music from other parts of the world, particularly Africa. (Afterwards, I got into folk and everything else went downhill.) Since then, I’ve learned that each bit of music is the gateway to other styles. This song popped up on my FLOM playlist today.

Next time I do this challenge, it will have to happen when I’m not living with my immediate family. Their habits fill the house, and so I’d like to try this again without the constant flow of muffled Dragnet, Perry Mason, and The Nanny. Not that I’m saying these shows are bad. They just seem like a dull nuisance right now. I would also like to watch an entire movie in one sitting without hearing my mother complain about what the characters are doing. “Why are they yelling?” Because their Italian. Or because they’re cops chasing a bad guy. Or because they’re Italian cops chasing a very, very bad guy.

I’ll be reading more novels. See you next week!

