Before this challenge began, I had weekly nightmares about vocabulary. The plots of these dreams usually entailed not knowing enough of one language to save my life, knowing so much of one that I couldn’t speak another, and even being attacked by words. (German, I’m looking at you.)

These dreams have since stopped. I believe immersing myself in some of these languages I’m learning (or want to learn) has given the vocabulary somewhere to go. My brain is finally able to put some of them to use. The first two weeks, I was even able to add a buttload more German flashcards without being overwhelmed. (I swear, if I’m chased around by Kolibris one more time I’ll forget all the animal words on purpose!)

bannerbaseWeek 3’s passing has filled me with sadness. That’s not to say It wasn’t a good week. I enjoyed Après Vous, a French comedy, with ma mère. I also found a Brazilian Portuguese action flick about Capoeira called The Assailant (or Besouro). Yesterday, I even indulged in some K-Pop.

I’m sad because there’s only one week and two days more of this challenge and I have so much left to do! My Norwegian language pile hasn’t been touched. I’ve only now gotten into a French groove. My adventure with the Foreign Films at my library will be another challenge on its own. I thought it would be fun to go in alphabetical order, depending on what they had that day. Three weeks in and I haven’t made it out of the A’s yet! I’ll work on it.

A good example of my month.

A good example of my month.

The last week will have to be more tailored. Norwegian might need to have its own week. (Week 5, anyone?) I’ll skip around in the films department to watch one of my favourites, Wings of Desire.

French will take a better part of my time. Grammar lessons en français seem to get along well with my morning-brain. I’ve learned the hard way German is bad for me when I’m still mumbling into a coffee cup. This could be on account of my synaesthesia. Because I consider French to be a vowel language, it sounds better in the morning than German, which is more of a consonant language. It’s like the difference between alarm clocks. I can’t wake up to “KREEQ. KREEQ. KREEQ.” It never works for me. My current, chosen alarm is gentle and sounds more like, “Woolabolo. Woolabolo. Woolabolo.” (Disclaimer: I’m not saying German is loud and/or obnoxious. I’m saying it’s easier for me to pay attention to it when I’m definitely conscious.)

This reminds me of an idea I’ve been wanting to mention. Language is music. I especially feel this is true when comparing Korean with Japanese, and French with Italian. They sound different (duh) because they’re like different styles of music. They produce different sounds, different rhythms, and instill different emotions in us depending on how we’ve been exposed to it. Susanna Zaraysky can perhaps explain it better. I haven’t read her book (and I’m not endorsing something I haven’t read myself), but she’s my favourite polyglot simply for this reason.

Any confessions this week? Yes, there was one hour where I watched English TV on purpose. I had a migraine after work and my mood can best be described as: “Sit me on the floor in my pajama hoodie and don’t talk to me.” I had dinner with my family while we watched The Nanny and some world news. I have also played a little more Starcraft, but at least I’m avoiding other English-media video games. I have also watched a little more of the world news because knowledge is power! I can’t escape!!

I’ll be back next week with more goodies. Before I go, enjoy some Capoeira.

